Saltwell Harriers Ronnie Walker Memorial 10km.

Saltwell Park, Gateshead. Sat. 23rd Dec.

This is AW Report / Results
Saltwell Park, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Abraham Tewelde repeated his 2016 victory in the event held in memory of Ronnie Walker, the former Saltwell president who died earlier this year. The race had been named after Ronnie for several years and it was fitting that a minute's silence was allotted just before the start.
Conditions were milder than usual but with a strong breeze blowing in the exposed parts of the course, times were slower than expected.
Conrad Franks soon headed the 460-strong field over the 3.5 undulating laps around the Park's Boundaries. He was closely pursued by Tewelde and the pair were 20m ahead of Dan Jenkin after the first circuit. Tewelde had opened up a 50m lead after lap 2 from Franks, who fought back on the third circuit to retake the lead coming into the Park around 800m from the finish. Tewelde of the host club, made a final effort with 600m remaining pulling away to a 3secs victory over Franks.
Jenkin held on to third place ahead of Tom Charlton who led Tyne Bridge to a fifth successive team victory. John Clifford in 8th position was the leading veteran for the 3rd successive year.
Sonia Samuels, the recent County Cross Country champion, easily won the Womens' race finishing in 11th position overall. Her margin of victory was 28secs over Danielle Hodgkinson, like the winner, a former Wallsend Harrier.
Charlotte Penfold, having a rare outing over this distance, finished in third place ahead of Jo Adams. Samuels was also the leading veteran. Tyne Bridge won the team title for the fourth successive year.
1 A Tewelde (Salt) 32:41; 2 C Franks (Gate) 32:44; 3 D Jenkin (Dur) 33:23; 4 T Charlton (Tyne Br) 33:27; 5 N Samuels (Sale) 33:34; 6 S Morley (Tyne Br) 34:10; 7 S Jackson (Elv) 34:13; 8 J Clifford (Even, M45) 34:53; 9 S MaGrath (Low F) 35:21; 10 M Alderson (Blay) 35:26; 11 S Samuels (Sale, W35) 35:41; 12 D Hodgkinson (Bir, SW) 36:09; 13 S Ellis (NSP) 36:38; 14 S Schubeler (Heat, M35) 36:45; 15 W Pearson (Crook, M45) 36:51
M50: 1 G Penn (NSP) 38:34. M55: 1 L Johnson (Low F) 39:39
TEAM (3 to Score)
1 Tyne Bridge H 24; 2 Low Fell 73, 3 Saltwell H 88. Veterans: 1 North Shields Poly 82
1 Samuels 35:41; 2 Hodgkinson 36:09; 3 C Penfold (NSP) 37:44; 4 A Sneddon (J&H) 38:04; 5 J Adams (R&Z) 39:28; 6 J Cram (Morp) 40:02; 7 K Stevenson (Tyne Br, W45) 41:01; 8 N Woodward (Sun, W35) 41:10; 9 S Marr (Tyne Br) 41:36; 10 A McGurk (J&H, W35) 42:15; 11 L Cheetham (Jes J) 42:39; 12 R Chaston (Tyne Br) 43:19
TEAM (3 to Score)
1 Tyne Bridge H 31; 2 North Shields Poly 58; 3 Tyne Bridge H B 74

Additional Comments: Results courtesy of UK (live after race). 461 finishers (last time: 80:15/79:45cp) (456 GR 72:46/72:08). Unofficial Male team results. Weather was bright, mild and dry but breezy.